Now teach these truths to other trustworthy people…

Thanks for coming back for another post about the Mission’s Trip! I know they’re long posts, but I just get so excited every time I sit down to write one! God truly blessed me last week and I feel this overwhelming need to share his message and gift! So here is day 6!

2 Timothy 2:2 KJV

[2] And the things that thou hast heard of me among many witnesses, the same commit thou to faithful men, who shall be able to teach others also.

2 Timothy 2:2 NLT

[2] You have heard me teach things that have been confirmed by many reliable witnesses. Now teach these truths to other trustworthy people who will be able to pass them on to others.

This is what Maria R. opened up the devotional with today. It was a reminder of Believers’ Fellowship’s mission. And how appropriate for a team on a mission…trip!

2 Peter 1:12-15 NLT

[12] Therefore, I will always remind you about these things-even though you already know them and are standing firm in the truth you have been taught. [13] And it is only right that I should keep on reminding you as long as I live. [14] For our Lord Jesus Christ has shown me that I must soon leave this earthly life, [15] so I will work hard to make sure you always remember these things after I am gone.

These are a reminder that we Christians, who know and are full of the word are responsible for sharing it. The word is not to keep for ourselves like a mouse with a stolen piece of cheese. The word is there to share, to teach, and to receive. It is there to spread the good news.

Hannah shared in her part of the devotional…

1 Timothy 6:12 NLT

[12] Fight the good fight for the true faith. Hold tightly to the eternal life to which God has called you, which you have declared so well before many witnesses.

1 Timothy 6:12 KJV

[12] Fight the good fight of faith, lay hold on eternal life, whereunto thou art also called, and hast professed a good profession before many witnesses.

The two messages fit so perfectly together. And then Don added…

Romans 8:17,31 NLT

[17] And since we are his children, we are his heirs. In fact, together with Christ we are heirs of God’s glory. But if we are to share his glory, we must also share his suffering. [31] What shall we say about such wonderful things as these? If God is for us, who can ever be against us?

Whew!!! That lit my fire again! Praise God!

dsc_0866
The Crew! Sorry Karla, we tried to wake you up!
Sadly we had to say goodbye to Maria Elena & Karla today. Maria Elena headed back to Tuxtepec where she would be leading a women’s Conference until Saturday night and then rejoin the group Sunday when we headed back.

img_1698
Karla
Karla needed to get back to her office. I’m going to tell you a little more about Karla because she deserves the spotlight. Karla joined us on the bus when we headed from Tuxtepec to Usila. I didn’t even realize she was part of our group until I saw her unloading with us in Usila. She didn’t come alone either. She didn’t have anyone to stay and care for her 3 children. So she brought them with her. She thought it was important they see the work we would be doing. Everyone worked hard this week. Everyone gave everything they had. But Karla, Karla gave it all and more. She didn’t wake up as early as the rest of us. And she didn’t always join us for breakfast. But at 15 minutes to 9 she was in her corner of the room setting up and preparing for the day. I wasn’t behind her curtain very much, but I knew what was going on behind it. When her assistants stopped for a break, she kept right on working. When every doctor, nurse, and pharmacist stopped for a break Karla was still working.

img_1697
Mike and Karla
It was only after I would come back and take care of my part of the clinic, would I check on her and realize once again she hadn’t stopped. The first day I took her patient slips and said I wouldn’t send her another person until she ate. The second day she took lunch when I reminded her and not before. At the end of day two when everyone else was getting ready to

img_1696
Karla, Maddie, and Maria
head to the river she wanted to take 4 more patients to finish the day. Don & Maria Elena had to step in and convince her they’d come back tomorrow. That and her kids wanted to go to the river too. This woman extracted 70+ teeth in a chair that was too low and caused her lower back pain. To the point that Stephan (he’s a physical therapist) had to step in and help. She worked up until the last minute and even took a bus home an hour later than expected. I remind you that without the benefit of our group that ride was b/w 4 1/2 to 5 hours long. And lastly, she had appointments she’d made for Friday for patients that needed a follow up that she was going to work on for free since they’d started there.  Wow, wow, wow! I was truly inspired by her. Thank you Karla for all that you did! I hope this doesn’t embarrass you by putting it out there. But I just thought others should know of your selflessness. When Karla left on Thursday I knew exactly who she was! I knew I’d made a friend, and I knew I was going to miss her.

After Karla left on Thursday we all worked again till 5. I say Sylvia pull a bug out of a woman’s foot! Nothing to numb the pain. It was pretty impressive. I would’ve cried like a baby. I’m such a wimp compared to these people! Stephan worked with the Pastor from Paso Escalera! Maria translated. Some of the parishioners that came had been at the service the previous night. Maria and Tania were so sweet and grateful. I know they held a special place in the hearts of the Marias!

dsc_0884
Cutting the foot open to remove the bug

dsc_0890
Sylvia doing a minor incision to remove the bug.

dsc_0893
Stephan doing therapy of the Pastor from Paso Escalera
I saw a 94 year old man come in today. He smiled the entire time. He was mostly deaf, but he was there with his son and daughter. They showed him such care. It was beautiful!

dsc_0899

Kid’s church was in full force. Shannon and Maria R. were truly stretched. Because of the teacher’s strike I mentioned in Hello Usila, they had the same kids every single day! Originally they were supposed to have a few kids each day from the different villages. So Shannon had originally planned 5 lessons to be repeated each day. Marcos, one of the kids was a pro by the end of the week and only needed to hear the chapter and verse of a scripture to quote it. I didn’t hear any complaints and the kids always looked entertained and tired. Great job ladies!

We were really done at 3, but nooooo. Not gonna lie, I was pretty tired. There were a couple of people waiting, and we agreed to take at least 10 more. Antero and team need to retake math! 10 turned into 20, and 20 into 30 and ultimately we saw another 42 patients. Because you try telling a mom we can’t see her child too. We didn’t actually try. In fact I’m just as guilty of adding them to the existing slips. After that we escaped! Jon (silly man, thought he was going to have quality time with Maria), Maria F, Maria R, Shannon and Mike (Jessica you are one lucky girl) went shopping. I’m sorry. I’m laughing again. Really Jon? Did you really think they weren’t going to go into every single shop?!

As it turns out they were able to minister to some of the locals. They invited them to both service that night, and the clinic the following morning. I’ll tell you more about that in the next post!

Moving along… The rest of us went back to the river. And well, when the parents are away, the children will play! We all swam down the rough water, and across it, and under it. Even Hannah! I tried to take a video of her but I was so anxious that I got her going off the rock and forgot to move the camera and follow her progress. But she made it! We all took turns, and it was so much fun! We got to stay a little longer today. Tonight Don would be preaching so we didn’t have much set up to do back at the church. Caleb is fearless. He repeatedly says that he has been prophesied over, and that many have told him he has a bright future and God has plans for him. Apparently this means he has carte blanche until later gets here. But I’m grateful for him. He found the way for each of us to get across. He caught his little sister when she went down the harder part, and he offered a hand to each of the ladies to help us out. Gotta love that kid!

img_6685
Caleb & Dylan in the back. Aaron and Stephan up front.

img_6714
Stephan, Maddie and Me.
Dylon and Aaron are hysterical. They’re always moving and saying the funniest things. If you’re not friends with Aaron Chand you need to work on that. Gandhi and him should compare notes. But one of the funniest things about Aaron is he doesn’t know he’s funny. He “accidentally” tells jokes. How does one accidentally tell a joke? Only Aaron can answer that. Dylan is funny! Watching him and Maddie should be a stand up comedy routine. Was I really that young once? I thank God that I can’t remember being that young. I would judge myself. But now that I’m older, I can just laugh at them.

img_6648
Maddie

On our way back we ran into Fabi and the rest of the medical team. We decided to visit the other river spot and do more swimming with them. The kids of Usila put my childhood to shame. They’re tireless and wonderful. Fabi must’ve gone up and down the steps 6x to rinse off mangos for us to eat. She does this barefoot over some nasty rocks. My feet ache again just thinking of it! I really miss that beautiful girl. Sylvia was another joy. Her laughter and zest are infectious! Eloisa, Saul and myself just sat and watched as she posed for pictures Laura was taking of her on a rock, with an iPad, way too close to the water! I laughed and cringed in equal parts!

After we got back, we set up for service. I use we loosely as I sat around and watched while Caleb and Chi did the work. Jon and I were working on song ideas from my playlist. Unfortunately there ended up being some technical difficulties and worship was cut short. Which really stinks cause I love worship! And Jon was going to play some of my favorite songs. Oh well.

Don delivered an awesome message with Dr. Laura as translator. I honestly can’t remember the specifics as I’d lost my notebook that afternoon and don’t have the notes. But I know it was about God and Jesus! You’re welcome… I know, I know Stephan… I’ll do better!

But Maria F. and Alesha remembered! Thanks ladies!! So Don spoke about “Running the Race”! The endurance it takes to keep going and push through all the negative and nay sayers. He spoke about being prepared and armed. The story was about a long distance race that he ran in himself. He was in 1st place until the end. But he started to get tired. 1 person, then 2 and finally 5 people passed him in the race. He came in 6th place! He wasn’t prepared. He hadn’t practiced enough. He didn’t have the endurance. And after one person passed him he didn’t have the will or the strength to fight to get back in the race.

That’s what it’s like being a Christian these days. We’re in a never ending race to stay motivated, connected, inspired and on fire! We have to read the word and be prepared for battle. God has already given us everything we need. He gave us His word! He gave us his Son! He gave us the Holy Spirit! The rest is up to us. He can’t move in us if we don’t let him. We have to be ready to run this race. We have to be ready to stay in first, and not be defeated. There are so many obstacles in place these days that could cause us to lose faith. But God has never lost faith in us! I’m not a runner, but this is one race I’m seriously enjoying!

Some of the scriptures that Don referred to were Matthew 24, Revelations 3, Romans 3, 2 Timothy 4:7, and Colossians 1:16. This would be too many vs. to add in her as they are entire chapters. So your homework is…

Tomorrow Laura, Dr. Daniela, Dr. Augustine, Jesus, Saul, Sylvia and Eloisa would be leaving us at 1:00. I was so not looking forward to that goodbye! This group of people who God put together in Usila… I just couldn’t have imagined sharing this with anyone else.

img_6694
View of the river

img_6657
Another view of the same river

One thought on “Now teach these truths to other trustworthy people…

Leave a Reply

