My Mission…Trip

Ahhh! I leave tomorrow. After what feels like forever I’m about to embark on my very 1st mission’s trip. I’m going with my incredible church Believers’ Fellowship. Our mission is 2 Timothy 2:2 – To commit unto the faithful so that they can teach others. And this is exactly how we do this! 15 of us will be making this trip to Usila, Mexico. It’s about 3 hours away from Vera Cruz, Mexico. It’s a medical mission’s trip. We’ve been blessed that additional doctors will be joining us for this mission.

We’ve been fundraising for about a year. Many of you have helped me make this dream a reality. I remember the 1st time the church brought it up. I knew I was going. In my heart I knew I was meant to be on this trip. I worried for about a minute about finances. But I knew just like other trips, that I just had to trust in God, and He would take care of the rest. And boy did He! I actually had overages and have been able to help others. How cool is that?

I have a new found respect for people who do concession stands at Stadiums and Arenas! I have never appreciated my desk job more than I do now. I had a gentlemen question the price of Nachos. “$6.oo”?! he said! “That’s a bit much”! I smiled and replied. “I have to disagree… We have to clean this stand, fill all the containers. I can’t tell you how many times that Nacho Cheese has burned me. Then we clean it all up and come back to do it again tomorrow. I’ve never worked so hard to go on a trip where I know I’ll be working harder”. The man, now wide eyed with my rant, smiled at me, paid his $6.00 and left a tip! I literally laughed out loud, thanked him and said “Next”! Don’t get me started on that Papa John’s Pizza! People… Seriously they aren’t charging enough!

We’ve done car washes for the public, and cooked lunch for the people at church. And finally, finally we leave tomorrow. There are 13 adults and two minors going. We’ve got a jammed pack week ahead of us. We’ll be visiting an orphanage, Several communities will pilgrimage (yes you saw that correctly) to see us and the doctors. There will be a VBS (Vacation Bible School) and Services in the evening. And I simply cannot wait! I can’t wait to go to a place and see the work of God, the smiles of a thankful community, and the change that will take place in me.

I thank God that I’ve had the privileges afforded to me. I’ve been so blessed to see so much of the world at my age. I’ve done Europe, much of the US, Cruises with and without my Vent Love families, and now the first of what I hope is many, many missions trips!

I can’t wait to see how God and the Holy Spirit work through me this week. I want to teach and learn so much from this group of people. I’m simply bubbling over the top with excitement. My bags have been packed for 4 days. I have never in my life been packed that early before. Pray with me my friends and followers. Pray that I be led by the spirit and I do just what God wants me to do. Pray for our safety, and most importantly pray with me that we help restore the faith, and bring new people to God.

After the week that I’ve had here in Orlando. Many of you have heard of the tragedies this week, I am so looking forward to going out and seeing good in the world. I know it’s there. I’ve seen it! I’ve been a part of it. I pray for you my family, friends and followers. I hope you find peace as well!

I’ll be posting all week from Mexico. So stay tuned!

Love and prayers all,

Carmen

 

 

5 thoughts on “My Mission…Trip

  1. May God continue to bless you and those around you. May God keep you and protect you of your surroundings. Make sure you keep the full armor of God because he is about to do even more beautiful things in your life. Wherever God take you may he lead you in all the right directions. You stay blessed & stay encouraged!!

Leave a Reply

