#PermanentlyPitaluga

I’ve been to so many weddings I’ve lost count! All of them beautiful, filled with love, and hope. But inevitably there are some that are magic. They take your breath away and make your heart skip a beat. They are so profound, that to just be there as a witness is to truly see God’s hand at work. This weekend, I was part of one just so.

On Saturday April 30th, 2016 Danny and Valerie became one! Not just in the legal sense, but in every sense. I had the luck of getting to spend time with both of them last July where they live in Columbus, OH. I’ve known Valerie for some years, but I was going to meet Danny for the first time. They are the most fun and happy couple! Their love is contagious, and the laughter infectious.

So I looked forward to Saturday with much anticipation! I knew I would see some old friends and was looking forward to that as well.

The event took place at the Mayfair located in  Coconut Grove in Miami, FL. Upon entering the cocktail room, I smiled like a moron. There, all lined up taking pictures, was Danny’s rugby team! I had my very good friend Maylan with me. We smiled at each other. We agreed this was going to be a special wedding!

And of course it did not disappoint.

From Danny’s face as Valerie and her mother walked down the isle…

IMG_9483
Photographer Unknown (Please message me if you are the photographer and I will add your name)
To the equally dazzling faces of Mother and Bride!

IMG_9444
Just look at those smiles!!

IMG_9467
Look at Valerie just looking ahead to her future!
Everyone in attendance knew they were witnessing God’s grace and love, as it clearly shone out of these two beautiful people.

The vows were said with such emotion and without reservation. These two are clearly already so committed to one another.

IMG_9466
Vows being exchanged
There’s something so special about the ring exchange. That outward symbol that tells the rest of the world “Seats Taken”. The eternal circle with no beginning, and no end. Danny could not wait to get it on her finger!

IMG_9479.JPG
Ring Exchange
But the best moment, that moment when it’s all official; The pastor declared them husband and wife! Just look at the sheer, unreserved excitement on their faces!

IMG_9481
I now pronounce you husband and wife…
To make it even more special, their first act as husband and wife was to share communion The Body and Blood of our Lord and Savior, Jesus Christ!

But don’t go yet! Because the reception is where the real tears (happy tears of course) began! The first dance was perfect! I hope you don’t mind David, but I just had to use your perfect picture!

IMG_9482
Photo of 1st dance by David Johnson
And then there was the mother son dance! Oh Lord! The party favors should’ve been tissues! They danced to “You Raise Me Up” by Josh Groban. The tears flowed like Niagara falls over here!

IMG_9477

IMG_9476
Photos by Carmen Prieto
And then well you know…It exploded! The dance floor was open to us all. I promise you we danced for 4 hours straight! It was a blast!

IMG_9445
David and Renee

IMG_9463
Break it down Danny and Maylan

IMG_9462
Bride, Groom and Flower Girl

IMG_9457
Danny and his mom

FullSizeRender (2)
I mean just look at them!
One of the most thoughtful and touching things I saw was was Valerie’s bouquet. I would’ve  missed it entirely if Susie hadn’t pointed it out! I’m so glad she did! It includes pictures of friends and family that were unable to celebrate with them.

IMG_9460
Look at little Hannah!
Thank you Valerie and Danny for such a magical night! Thank you for the invite and for sharing this moment with me! I will treasure it always! I pray for many more moments like this for you both! I look forward to future visits and our friendship!

Love you both! Congratulations Mr. and Mrs. Pitaluga!! See you in July!

Here’s another couple of my favorites to share!

IMG_9451
Maylan and I with the bride and groom

IMG_9458
Valerie and Maylan

IMG_9468
Valerie and Owen

IMG_9472
Kisses for Owen

IMG_9470
The beautiful cake!

IMG_9475
The Johnson Family, Maylan and Myself with the Bride and Groom! Last picture of the night (well for us anyway)!

3 thoughts on “#PermanentlyPitaluga

  1. Thank you so much for your tribute to Valerie and our beloved Danny.. Your words are beautiful!

  2. It truly was magical. Thank you for putting these words together and sharing the special moment. God’s presence palpable. ❤️

Leave a Reply

