The first trip I can remember…

I must’ve been around 7 or 8. My parents were still married, and we went to New York, NY and Greenwich, CT.

We must’ve walked and walked forever. We climbed the Statue of Liberty, went to the top of the Empire State Building and Twin Towers. I’m so lucky and happy I get to say that. Generations to come will never know the loss of it.

It was my dad, mom, my two brothers Carlos and Luis, my Uncle Jorge and my Abuela. We ate hotdogs from vendors, pretzels in the street, and walked. We took the subway and my first taxi. It was a city of wonder. And each time I’ve been back, it still holds that wonder.

The details are foggy, but is there anyone out there who doesn’t leave NY in a blur?

From there we went to Greenwich. We stayed at my dad’s Godmother’s house. Talk about a house.!! I remember thinking it was a castle. In reality it was a mansion, but when you’re that little, everything seems huge. I always slept in the “Library”, also known as the armor room. There was literally a suite of armor in there. Mercedes (my dad’s Godmother’s sister) would read to me every night before I went to bed.

The backyard of this house was every kid’s dream. It had a forest to hide in, a pond to fish in, and rocks to climb. There was a greenhouse, and a swimming pool with a diving board. Are you in kid heaven yet?! I actually saved Luis from drowning in that pool once.

It’s a good memory. It’s a great memory, and they get better!

Stay tuned.

Carmen

20131205-232336.jpg

Leave a Reply

